thoughtbugs

Just another WordPress.com site

Remembering

on May 15, 2012

But God remembered Noah and all the wild animals and the livestock that were with him in the ark, and he sent a wind over the earth, and the waters receded. (Gen 8:1)

Remembering

 This verse is one of my favorites because it gives me hope. That might sound kind of weird but consider the context of this verse. In the preceding verses, God’s wrath is turned loose on creation. Everything and everyone is destroyed except this little boat (comparatively speaking) and its passengers. God is pissed and he is venting his fury. But even in the midst of it, his mind turns to Noah.  He could have just said forget about this. Let’s get rid of them all and start over. Who would have been there to say anything different? But he didn’t. He remembered Noah.

I have been that kind of angry before. When all I wanted to do was destroy everything I could get my hands on. I have gone too far and destroyed some things that, afterward,  I really wished I hadn’t. Fortunately, God isn’t as careless as me. Or as shortsighted. Or… well, you get the picture.

 So back to why this gives me hope. On days (weeks, months, whatever) when everything is crashing around my ears, it helps to think of this verse and know that God is in control. He is never careless with his creation. He is never too late to save us. And he loves us. I know that God will not let anything happen to me that he does not have to. Sometimes it is because he is trying to teach me something. Sometimes it is because I have to learn the consequences  of my actions. No matter the reason, when the time is right, God will remember me. Just like he did Noah.

Leave a Reply

